Accellera Technical Excellence Award

Congratulations Philipp A. Hartmann, Recipient of the 2020 Technical Excellence Award

Philipp A. Hartmann, Recipient of the 2020 Technical Excellence AwardPhilipp A. Hartmann is the recipient of the ninth annual Accellera Technical Excellence Award. He was presented the award at DVCon U.S. on Monday, March 2, 2020 during the Accellera Day luncheon.

Hartmann, a SystemC user for almost two decades and key contributor to the SystemC language standard, was honored for his many years of dedication to the advancement of Accellera standards. Hartmann joined the SystemC standardization effort in 2009 with several contributions to the IEEE Std. 1666-2011. He served as the SystemC Language WG Chair from 2013-2019 and contributed as member to the Transaction-Level Modeling (TLM), SystemC Control, Configuration and Introspection (CCI), SystemC Analog/Mixed-Signal (AMS), and SystemC Verification working groups. In addition, he led to the installation of the public SystemC GitHub repository for community use. Hartmann is also one of the initial organizers of SystemC Evolution Day, a user-driven workshop sponsored by Accellera where the SystemC community meets annually to discuss and advance SystemC standards.

“Philipp has been an invaluable, active member of Accellera for many years, driving the evolution of the SystemC standard as well as being one of the most crucial contributors to the code development of the SystemC reference implementation,” stated Martin Barnasconi, Accellera Technical Committee Chair. “The unique combination of his leadership skills, as well as his profound knowledge of the C++ and SystemC language, has made him one of the most prolific and noteworthy developers over the last decade to the SystemC standardization efforts in Accellera. With Philipp’s dedication, the SystemC community has been rewarded with a feature-rich and robust standard. It is my privilege to honor Philipp with this well-deserved award.”

“I am honored to receive this award from Accellera,” said Hartmann. “I have enjoyed working with many of the SystemC contributors and users to help improve the use, quality and efficiency of the SystemC language standard and reference implementation. It has been very rewarding to be a member of the SystemC community and contributor to the advancements of the SystemC ecosystem. As a team, we’ve established the annual SystemC Evolution Day, and I am thankful for the opportunity to help build it and see its successful integration into the SystemC standardization cycle.”

Read the press release >


About the Technical Excellence Award

Accellera Systems Initiative wishes to recognize the outstanding achievements of its working group members by selecting outstanding contributors to our standards development process as recipients of the Accellera Systems Initiative Technical Excellence Award.

This annual award recognizes major contributions to the development of Accellera standards. Examples of such contributions may include leadership in standardization of new technologies, assuring achievement of standards development goals, and identifying opportunities to better serve the needs of the community through standards.

The recipient of the Technical Excellence Award is recognized at DVCon U.S.


Any member of an Accellera Working Group is eligible for the award.

Candidates can be nominated by Working Group chairs and are endorsed and selected by participants of the Accellera Technical Excellence Award Committee, which is a subcommittee of the Technical Committee.

Nominations must include the following information:

  • The candidate's name, email address, and affiliation
  • Brief description of the specific achievements that justify the award (supporting documents are optional)
  • Why those achievements are important to the industry
  • Your name, email address, and affiliation

For more information about our awards programs, contact us.

Past Recipients

2019 Tom Fitzpatrick
2018 Richard Weber
2017 Tom Alsop
2016 Erwin de Kock
2015 Justin Refice
2014 Andrew Goodrich
2013 Janick Bergeron
2012 John Aynsley
2010 Shalom Bresticker
2009 Sri Chandra
2008 Bruce Cory
2007 Stephen Bailey
2006 Harry Foster
2005 Karen Pieper & Johny Srouji
2004 John Havlicek